The Register of Deeds Office issues marriage licenses for North Carolina. The requirements are as follows:
The Marriage License fee is $60.
There is no waiting period. Blood tests or physicals are not required.
The marriage license is valid for 60 days from the date of issue.
The license is valid in any county in North Carolina and is returned to the Register of Deeds in the county in which it was issued. Failure to do so subjects the person performing the ceremony to a $200.00 fine.
Both parties must present identification in the form of a valid drivers license or other government issued photo I.D.
Applicants need to bring a copy of their birth certificates.
Both parties must provide proof of social security number.
If either party has been married before, please know the month and year of how the last marriage ended. If divorced, please provide a copy of the divorce papers.
Both parties must be 18 years of age. Please call the Register of Deeds office for underage marriage requirements.
Please call (828) 452-6635 with any further questions.